Languages Come in Many Forms

Interculturally Speaking

I am studying Spanish and Intercultural studies in college, but I so wish that I had time to study more languages. Someday…

I haven’t even seen this movie, but I’ve heard it’s great. I do know this song sequence is incredible though. Seamless transition between 25 languages, of which only parts of about 3 are understood by me. This reinforces my desire to learn more languages, even if only in part.

I have watched several movies recently with different languages in them (Kon-Tiki, The Way Back, and Into the White, The Great Escape), and have found myself extremely interested. I want to understand them, to know exactly what the characters are saying, not an approximation translation. But having studied Spanish for about 5 years now, I still can’t even understand all of the Spanish in movies. It will be a long process, but I hope that I will be able…

View original post 110 more words

Leave a Reply

